Bargain Block’s Temple House: A modern take on boho-chic

Bargain Block’s Temple House: A modern take on boho-chic

The Temple House from the ’70s-inspired episode of Bargain Block season three features a stunning modern Zen design.

There is nothing quite as serene as a bohemian home filled with earthy design elements.

But the Temple House, which was featured as one of two neighboring houses which Keith Bynum and Evan Thomas transformed in the “The Disco and Temple Houses” episode from the show’s most recent season, proves that this laid-back design-style no longer has to be stuck in the ‘70s.

Overall, this episode of Bargain Block was incredibly enjoyable to watch and between Keith and Evan trying to balance two simultaneous transformations and the unexpected seventies throwback moments, where even Shea joined in on the ‘70s dress-up party, Keith still managed to pull off two of the most intriguing designs seen in the show thus far.

The Temple House’s design

Keith and Evan have created a reputation for themselves by giving each of their Bargain Block homes a very distinct and unique “personality.”

This serves to inform all of the build and design choices in the episode, and the ‘Zen’ Temple House is no different.

Keith wanted this home to feel like a relaxing oasis fit for a meditation enthusiast and the final design, which features a combination of materials.

These materials, which ranged from wooden countertops in the kitchen, a Sherpa-look couch, and the geometric polished stone-look side tables in the living room to the beautiful textured standing piece in the dining room, and the monotone boxes covering the curtain rails throughout, accomplished just that.

In the end, small touches like the dark color used to offset the mantle in the living room, the beautiful and ultra-modern scalloped coffee table and the cool, neutral color scheme not only grounded this busy design scheme, but it also transported it forward into the current century.

Moreover, it has really helped to set The Temple House apart as one of the most high-end looking designs that Bargain Block has ever produced.

How to watch this episode again

If you accidentally missed this Bargain Block episode the first time around, or if you simply want to watch these spaces transform all over again, you should be on the lookout for the show’s re-runs, which are set to air on HGTV very soon again.

According to the HGTV schedule for October 2023, you will be able to find this episode again in the following timeslots:

Date Time
Saturday, October 14, 2023 3 p.m. EST (2 p.m. CST)
Wednesday, October 18, 2023 8 p.m. EST (7 p.m. CST)
Thursday, October 19, 2023 3 a.m. EST (2 a.m. CST)
Tuesday, October 24, 2023 5 p.m.  EST (4 p.m. CST)

The materials used in this design

The Temple House and The Disco House both contained quite a few pieces which Keith and Evan handcrafted especially for the project.

But just like most of the other designs showcased on this season of the show, it also featured elements from the show’s preferred vendors.

This includes several different types of tile from the Anatolia and Cerdomus collections from Virginia Tile Company.

This is the same company that Keith used for the plaid-pattern tiles for the “Cozy Cabin House” design, which had been so popular just a few weeks ago.

This design is also a favorite of the show’s hosts

Although Keith often refers to his Bargain Block designs as “favorites”, he did make special mention of The Temple House design on his Instagram page.

His caption read “The Temple house was one of my personal favorites. It was elegant and I loved the light. It was a relaxing space for sure!”

Evan also later joined in on the fun, commenting “One of my favorites also. It was a joy to shoot as well! So many pretty angles,” on this post.

DIY-ing this design in your own home

Keith and Evan have been so busy transforming multiple homes simultaneously for this season of Bargain Block, that you may have a difficult time tracking this expert designer and carpenter down for some advice on how to recreate their signature style in your own home.

But the good news is – Keith shared a DIY-video on the Bargain Block social media pages following the airing of this episode, explaining how you can make your very own wood LED lamp.

Essentially, this process involves creating a long U-shaped box out of a wooden plank, to which you can then secure an LED light strip before hanging it in your home as a minimalistic light fixture (which could also double well as a one-of-a-kind piece of wall art at the end of a hallway).