A Grown Up’s Guide to the ‘Tomb Raider’ Video Games Story

Our Grown Up's Guides are designed to help you get reacquainted with some of the most popular franchises in the world and sometimes they will even help you find fun video games to play.

The video game medium’s equivalent to Indiana Jones, Croft has long been seen as a character whose popularity rivals fellow early console icons like Mario, Solid Snake, and Link.

Tomb Raider

The first game in the Tomb Raider series, 1996’s eponymous title follows the exploits of renowned archaeologist Lara Croft, tasked with finding the treasured artifact known as the Scion of Atlantis.

Tomb Raider II

One year after the groundbreaking success of the original Tomb Raider, the game developers at Core Design released this 1997 sequel, which saw Lara trying to find the mythical “Dagger of Xian,” an ancient knife the Emperor of China used to turn himself into a dragon.

Tomb Raider III

In 1998, Core released the third entry in the Tomb Raider franchise. This time around, Lara tries to find pieces of a meteorite spread across the globe, taking her on a worldwide adventure from India and the South Pacific to Antarctica and Area 51.

Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation

The fourth installment of the Tomb Raider series, The Last Revelation is commonly seen as the one where both the series’ designers and fans grew tired of the once groundbreaking video game franchise.