A Complete Guide to the Avatar: The Last Airbender Comic

There is no question that Avatar: The Last Airbender, or ATLA, as it is lovingly referred to by millions of fans worldwide, is an impeccable show.

If there was ever a time to get into the originally existing (and quickly expanding) list of ATLA comics, it is now. The comics are all canon and produced by Dark Horse Comics. Mike and Bryan, the original show's creators, are heavily involved in creating most of these comics.

If, like many of the show's ardent fans, you can't wait to get into the expanded Avatar: The Last Airbender comics universe, here is a detailed guide to how to read them in proper order.

The Lost Adventures

The Lost Adventures is the first ATLA comic book that was ever released. It's a one-shot collection of short stories set between different episodes or seasons of the show. These one-shots were released in Nickelodeon magazine while the show was still on the air.

A standalone graphic novel, Katara and the Pirate's Silver, follows Katara's journey after she gets separated from her friends.

Katara and the Pirate's Silver

Suki, Alone

Set in the dark prison where Suki spends her time locked up before the events in “The Boiling Rock,” we follow her adventures in Suki, Alone. Here, she musters all her courage and wits to build a community of prisoners to rise against Fire Lord Ozai's indomitable forces.

The arc follows Aang and Zuko on their paths to becoming true leaders. While most of the other characters mostly take a backseat, this is the arc where Toph starts her new metal-bending school.

The Promise

In this trilogy, the team comes together again to help Zuko find his mother, Ursa. We learn a lot about Ursa's backstory and the heartbreaking reasons behind her disappearance.

The Search

Swipe up to learn more!