Watch the Despicable Me Movies in Order

In Order by Release Date

Despicable Me (2010) Despicable Me 2 (2013) Minions (2015) Despicable Me 3 (2017) Minions: The Rise of Gru (2022)

In Chronological Order

Minions (2015) Minions: The Rise of Gru (2022) Despicable Me (2010) Despicable Me 2 (2013) Despicable Me 3 (2017)

Despicable Me (2010)

When aspiring supervillain Gru (Steve Carell) discovers that his rival outshone him with his last heist, Gru decides to plan even bigger and steal the Moon. He meets three orphans and initially adopts them only to use them as a part of his evil plan


As Gru settles into a quiet life as a father, he learns that a mysterious villain robbed a hidden laboratory in the Arctic. Lucy Wilde (Kristen Wiig), an agent from the Anti-Villain League, contacts Gru and asks him to work undercover to help her discover the thief’s identity.

Despicable Me 2 (2013)


From the dawn of time, minions evolved to serve one master. Flash forward to 1968: The minions have served hundreds of evil geniuses, supervillains, and iconic monsters, but now they’re stuck searching for a new leader.

Minions (2015)


Gru is in for a shock when he’s fired from the Anti-Villain League after he fails to capture the evil ex-child star Balthazar Bratt (Trey Parker). As Gru reels from losing his job–and his life-long identity–He gets another surprise. Gru has a twin named Dru (also Steve Carell).

Despicable Me 3 (2017)


How did Gru find his footing as a supervillain all those years ago once he and the minions found each other? Minions: The Rise of Gru swoops in to answer our questions about Gru’s backstory.

Minions: The Rise of Gru (2022)